Sell Your Way To Freedom

I’ve been listening to a lot of TED talks at work lately. Not only are these talks informative and inspirational, but they help break up the monotony of the tasks I’ve recently been asked to perform.  It’s been a life saver and an eye-opener all at once.

The most recent video I watched was by Adam Baker – Sell your crap. Pay your debt. Do what you love. Sounds simple enough.  Except I think I’m borderline hoarding my childhood memories.

Enter: research.

I went to his website. I read some articles (on my well-deserved lunch break). I started critically thinking.

Don’t get me wrong.  This isn’t the first time I’ve thought about getting rid of my stuff. The last purge I did I got rid of my Quints that I kept in my storage unit (I still have my Polly Pockets, among other things). I still think about those damn Quints, can you believe it?!  Every time I think about getting rid of more, I wonder if it was right for me to part with my beloved QUINTS! It haunts me. But what haunts me more is the STUFF. I am a single dating 25-year-old with no children yet I have managed to fill a 1200 sq.ft. condo and a storage unit that is easily 200 sq.ft. with gorilla racks.  WHY DO I HAVE SO MUCH STUFF?!

Enter: experiment.

I read this article. I’ve decided to try it.  Make a coffee-table book out of my sentimental stuff scrap books. All I need is to do is put in the effort. Time is money. I will use the opportunity to take nice pictures of all of my things with a dual purpose: to memorize and to sell. The pictures will find there permanent home within my home-made scrap book and the digital copies will be used to sell the items online.  THUS, this won’t just be an art project, it will be a business venture.

Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

